桜風 // Sakura Kaze

Yuyuko-kiyu

☆ 原曲 / Original by ZUN:
東方妖々夢 ~ Perfect Cherry Blossom
幽雅に咲かせ、墨染の桜 ~ Border of Life
Bloom Nobly, Ink-black Cherry Blossom ~ Border of Life
アルティメットトゥルース
Ultimate Truth

☆ 歌 / Vocal: Candy
☆ 作詞 / Lyrics: azuki
☆ 編曲 / Arrangement: kaztora
☆ サークル / Circle: 森羅万象 ~ Shinra-bansho
☆ アルバム / Album: (Reitaisai 9) あの日の夢のアリス -Ano Hi no Yume no Alice-

TL Notes:

There’s no real elegant way I can find to translate the title, which literally means “sakura wind”, so I’ve left it in romaji.

The lyrics sound a little cold, especially when she asks her lover to “be on your own” and “cry”, but I see it as Yuyuko asking them (presumably mortal) to leave and stay away now to spare them the pain of their inevitable separation by death. Why this is when she can control death is another question altogether, but it’s a nice, if heartwrenching sentiment.

決して 近づけない 触れ合えないから
(lit. because, indisputably, we will not be able remain together, or be able to touch each other)
Because we are fated to be separated one day – Liberal translation here, I tried to make it flow better in English without sacrificing the essential meaning. It seems to imply that it’s inevitable the time will come when they cannot stay together or even touch each other.

涙もやがて凍るから
(lit. because even tears have finally frozen)
Because even my well of tears has finally frozen over – Due to the passage of time (suggested by the passing of seasons; spring of love in the first stanza to winter of solitude here), her tears have finally been frozen over, i.e. stopped. I used “well” to imply that it’s not that she doesn’t wish to cry more, but it’s been so long and she has cried so much that it has “frozen”, because her grief has turned cold and hard as well.

胸に 閉じ込めてた 思い出の蝶 // 空いた右手 空を切る
(lit. the butterflies of memories that have been locked up in my heart // cut through the emptiness of my open right hand)
The butterflies of memories I’ve locked up in my heart // Cut through the empty space in my right hand – More or less the literal meaning here; the “empty space in my right hand” seems to refer to the unaccustomed emptiness where her lover once held her right hand. The “cutting through” is something like taking the edge of the loneliness of the feeling, in that she finds some solace in the fluttering (butterflies) of the willfully suppressed memories of their love in her heart.

Now, without further ado, the lyrics and translation! Proofread by Akyuun as usual.

いつの日か 二人 春の中
ここで約束をしたね
可笑しいね 不思議と 涙が出る
覚えている事は 桜の香

itsu no hi ka futari haru no naka
koko de yakusoku wo shita ne
okashii ne fushigi to namida ga deru
oboeteiru koto wa sakura no kou

One day, together in the spring
We made a promise here
It’s strange how tears mysteriously appear in my eyes
All I remember is the fragrance of cherry blossoms

どこか 懐かしい花が 手と手を繋ぐ
「壊れないで」と ココロ寂しく笑う
遠い仮初の恋路を 自分で感じたいの

dokoka natsukashii hana ga te to te wo tsunagu
「kowarenaide」 to kokoro sabishiku warau
tooi karisome no koiji wo jibun de kanjitai no

Somewhere, a nostalgic flower joins one hand to another
“Don’t break,” my heart whispers with a lonely smile
I want to walk the remote, transient path of love by myself

いつか 遠く遠く 離れる時も
桜葉咲き誇るる
決して 近づけない 触れ合えないから
どうか一人きりにして欲しい

itsuka tooku tooku hanareru toki mo
sakuraba sakihokoruru
keshite chikazukenai fureaenai kara
douka hitorikiri ni shite hoshii

Even when we are torn far, far apart
The cherry blossoms will still continue to bloom
Because we are fated to be separated one day
Please, I want you to be on your own

いつの日か 一人 雪の中
涙もやがて凍るから
いつまでも 続いた 笑う声を
忘れる事は きっと無い

itsu no hi ka hitori yuki no naka
namida mo yagate kooru kara
itsumademo tsuzuita warau koe wo
wasureru koto wa kitto nai

One day, alone in the snow
Because even my well of tears has finally frozen over
The sound of your timeless laughter
Is something I will surely never forget

いつも 約束の花で 目と目と結ぶ
「離さないで」と 抱きしめて
傍に居るだけの恋路を
自分に刻みたいの

itsumo yakusoku no hana de me to me to musubu
「hanasanaide」 to dakishimete
soba ni iru dake no koiji wo
jibun ni kizamitai no

Amid the flowers of our promise, our gazes always meet
“Don’t let go,” my tight embrace whispers
I want to etch into my mind
The path of love I walk with only you by my side

いつか 迎えに行く 約束しても
桜葉散り落ち逝く
決して 叶えられず 忘れ逝くから
どうか一人きりにして欲しい

itsuka mukae ni yuku yakusoku shite mo
sakuraba chiri ochiyuku
keshite kanaerarezu wasureyuku kara
douka hitorikiri ni shite hoshii

Someday, even the promise we made to meet
Will fall and scatter like cherry blossoms
Because my wish to forget can never be granted
Please, I want you to be on your own

目覚めたら 夢じゃないと気付いてしまう
満開の桜に

mezametara yume jyanai to kizuiteshimau
mankai no sakura ni

When I wake up, amidst the cherry trees in full bloom
I can’t help but realise that this isn’t a dream

胸に 閉じ込めてた 思い出の蝶
空いた右手 空を切る
決して 悔やまないで 忘れないから
どうか今だけは泣かせてほしい

mune ni tojikometeta omoide no chou
aita migite kuu wo kiru
keshite kuyamanaide wasurenai kara
douka ima dake wa nakasete hoshii

The butterflies of memories I’ve locked up in my heart
Cut through the empty space in my right hand
Because I can never regret, nor forget
Please, just for now, I want you let you cry

Leave a Reply

